Raytheon Wins US Army Contract to Supply NASAMS to Ukraine

Understand the impact of the Ukraine conflict from a cross-sector perspective with the Global Data Executive Report: Ukraine Conflict

The US Army has awarded a contract to Raytheon Technologies, Raytheon Missiles & Defense, to supply a National Advanced Surface-to-Air Missile System (NASAMS) to Ukraine.

The contract has an estimated value of approximately $182 million.

The NASAMS highly adaptable medium-range air defense solution will enable Ukrainian forces to defend against advanced air threats.

The latest deal is part of a $2.98 billion security assistance tranche recently announced by the US to support Ukraine in its fight against the Russian invasion.

Awarded as part of the Ukraine Security Assistance Initiative (USAI), the security aid included radars, unmanned aerial systems (UAS), various munitions along with a total of six NASAMS and additional munitions.

Raytheon Missiles & Defense Land Warfare & Air Defense President Tom Laliberty said: “Raytheon Missiles & Defense and our partners are working diligently to quickly deliver this critical and proven air defense capability to help the Ukrainian people defend their homeland.

“Ukraine will join a dozen nations around the world who rely on NASAMS to defeat a multitude of threats, including cruise missiles, aircraft and unmanned systems.”

The NASAMS air defense solution is jointly developed by Raytheon and the Norwegian company Kongsberg Defense & Aerospace (KDA).

The system comprises advanced medium-range air-to-air missiles, Sentinel radar and KDA’s fire distribution center.

It is an adaptive system that enables air defenders to maximize their ability to identify, engage, and destroy existing and future UAS, enemy aircraft, and cruise missile threats.

In addition, the system has a modular, open hardware and software architecture to accommodate new technologies and capabilities in the future,

NASAMS is currently being used by around 12 countries around the world, including the US, Spain, Norway, Finland, the Netherlands, Indonesia, Australia, Oman, Lithuania, Qatar, and Hungary.

Related companies

Leave a Comment