How to watch the Presidents Cup this weekend

How to watch the Presidents Cup this weekend originally appeared on NBC Sports Chicago

The 14th edition of the Presidents Cup is finally approaching.

The 2022 Presidents Cup returns to the PGA Tour after a three-year hiatus due to COVID-19 and golf fans are in for some exciting action this week.

The event is ready to hit the famous Hollow Quail Club in North Carolina for the first time, with players from Team USA and Team International facing off against each other.

American captain Davis Love III will be supported by top-ranked Scottie Scheffler and 2021 FedEx Cup champion Patrick Cantlay. On the international side, captain Trevor Immelman will look to get the best golf out of 2021 Masters winner Hideki Matsuyama and No. 19-ranked Sungjae Im.

Here’s everything you need to know about the 2022 Presidents Cup ahead of:

Where is the Presidents Cup?

The 2022 Presidents Cup is at Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, NC

When is the Presidents Cup?

The Presidents Cup begins on Thursday, September 22 and ends on Sunday, September 25.

How can I watch the Presidents Cup?

All four days of action can be seen between Golf Channel, Peacock, NBC and Peacock. The full schedule is below:

Thursday September 22: 12:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. (ET), Golf Channel/Peacock
Friday September 23: 11:30 am to 6 pm ET, Golf Channel/Peacock
Saturday September 24: 7 to 8 am ET, Golf Channel/Peacock; 8 a.m.-6 p.m., NBC/Peacock
Sunday September 25: 12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. (ET), NBC/Peacock

What are the Presidents Cup teams?

Team USA:

  • patrick cantlay

  • sam burns

  • justin thomas

  • tony finau

  • scottie scheffler

  • Xander Schauffele

  • young cameron

  • billy horschel

  • Colin Morikawa

  • Kevin Kisner

  • jordan spieth

  • max homa

Captain: Davis Love III
Attendees: Webb Simpson, Steve Stricker, Zach Johnson and Fred Couples

International Team:

  • Hideki Matsuyama

  • Sungjae Im

  • Tom Kim

  • corey conners

  • Myth Pereira

  • Adam Scott

  • taylor pendrith

  • Sebastian Munoz

  • yes woo kim

  • cam davis

  • Christian Bezuidenhout

  • K H Lee

Captain: Trevor Immelmann
Assistants: Mike Weir, KJ Choi, Geoff Ogilvy and Camilo Villegas

What is the format of the Presidents Cup?

The Presidents Cup is a team competition between the US and international teams (players from countries outside of the US and Europe). Each team is made up of 12 male players.

The competition includes 30 matches played over four days. There are 18 team matches followed by 12 individual matches on Sunday.

There will be five Foursomes games on Thursday and five Four-ball games on Friday. Saturday will include two rounds of four matches each. Saturday will also include four Foursomes games in the morning and four Four-ball games in the afternoon.

Foursomes is an alternative shooting game that involves a two-man team playing a ball and the team with the lowest score on the hole wins. In Four-balls, each player uses their own ball and the lower score between the two players on a team will count as the team’s score for the hole.

Each match is worth one point each for a grand total of 30 points. The first team to add 15.5 points will win the Presidents Cup.

Leave a Comment