How to play the Outlast games in order


There are few horror franchises that can match the terrifying experience of playing Survive. The games were a natural evolution of the formula established in Amnesia: The Dark Descent, creating an atmosphere of dread along with an experience devoid of weapons or combat. Your only tools are your camera batteries which, with the infrared on, acts as your flashlight; bandages to heal wounds, and the environment in which you can hide and pray that the enemy does not find you. The games have an engaging and well-received plot, and with the upcoming release of survival tests, you may want to know what is the best way to experience these acclaimed horror games. Read on for our guide on How to play the Outlast games in order!

How to play the Outlast games in order

The Outlast Tests

For the most part, Outlast has gone in a somewhat chronological progression, each new release building on the last. But with survival teststhe order has changed a bit, so if you get into the series when the new title releases, this is how you should play the games:

  • The Survival Trials (2022)
  • Survive (2013)
  • Outlast: Whistleblower DLC (2014)
  • Overcome 2 (2017)

Much of the original games’ plot takes place in Mount Massive Asylum, with the case of Outlast 2 and Outlast Trials the most common element shared being the Murkoff Corporation. Common elements and concepts shared between the games include experimentation such as Dream Therapy, Mind Control, and even the ethical debates surrounding Operation Paperclip and the type of work done by German scientists after World War II. In all the games, you can experience an exciting plot, but if you take your time in each title, you’ll find tons of information to expand the series’ lore and discover more about Murkoff’s key experiments and characters.

The original game and its DLC trace your investigation of Mount Massive in Colorado, where you learn of the inhumane experiments conducted by Murkoff and intend to expose this, only to find yourself desperate to escape, as the experiments have led to the asylum being destroyed. invaded by those affected. patients The DLC, while starting in the events leading up to the first game, eventually reaches the final moments before having an epilogue that takes place later on.

Outlast 2 moves away from Mount Massive and sends you to Arizona, but the mind control and other aspects, like a lot of crazy enemies hunting you down, are still in the offing. The game takes place later chronologically, but still shares essentially the same villain, albeit with an even scarier premise, better visuals, and more intense enemies. The Outlast Trials will serve as a prequel, the third main entry in the series, and chronicles Murkoff’s experiments during the Cold War. Not much else is known about how this will connect to the plot of any of the previous games. The Outlast Trials is chronologically the first story in a matter of decades, so it fills a role similar to that of Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater.

East concludes our coverage of our recommendation for How to play the Outlast games in order!

survival tests It currently has a planned release date of sometime in 2022, but you can play previous Outlast games on PC, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

– This article was updated on August 28, 2022

Leave a Comment