Five-star ton-up Gill and Mohit help Gujarat Titans reach the final with a thumping win over Mumbai Indians

His timing and hitting play was silky smooth as he hit ten sixes and seven fours to lead the Mumbai bowlers into an all-park cleanup. Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to bowl against the Gujarat Titans at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. While Titans made two changes to their XI as Joshua Little and Sai Sudarshan returned to the side replacing Dasun Shanaka and Darshan Nalkande. While Mumbai Indians made a change when Kumar Kartikeya returned to the XI. We are just two matches away from landing the IPL 2023 champions as Chennai Super Kings have already secured a place in the final, while Gujarat Titans and Mumbai Indians will battle it out on Friday to book the second and final spot to face MS Dhoni and Co. Mumbai Indians have rich experience playing high pressure matches as they have won the IPL title five times while Gujarat Titans won the title at their first attempt last season and raring to double it. in consecutive years. The two teams have met twice this season and have shared two points each in the league phase. Whereas the contest on Friday will be a high pressure contest and the team that manages to control their nerves will go through and face Chennai Super Kings in the final.

Mumbai Indians have the winning momentum as they edged out Lucknow Super Giants in the knockout contest, while Titans have home field advantage as they played seven matches this season at Narendra Modi Stadium. Shubman Gill’s form is the key for the Titans as he has been consistently scoring well for them in recent games and leading the hitting unit when others are struggling a bit. Hardik Pandya also needs to get his mojo back as he has not been able to perform at his best this season. While Mohammad Shami and Rashid Khan have been doing the work for them with the ball, the task of keeping the Mumbai Indians batting lineup in shape will not be an easy one for them.

Although, despite restricting LSG to a sub-par total at Chepauk, the Mumbai Indians’ bowling remains a weak link. Akash Madhwal has flourished in the absence of Jasprit Bumrah and Jofra Archer in the pace department, while fellow pacemakers Jason Behrendorff and Chris Jordan have struggled to perform consistently.


Gujarat Titans: Hardik Pandya (c), Shubman Gill, David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Sai Sudharsan, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, Rashid Khan, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Shami, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Pradeep Sangwan, Darshan Nalkande, Jayant Yadav , R. Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad, Dasun Shanaka, Odean Smith, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Urvil Patel, Joshua Little, and Mohit Sharma.

Bombay Indians: Rohit Sharma (c), Chris Jordan, Arshad Khan, Jason Behrendorff, Dewald Brevis, Piyush Chawla, Tim David, Raghav Goyal, Cameron Green, Ishan Kishan (week), Duan Jansen, Chris Jordan, Kumar Kartikeya, Akash Madhwal, Riley Meredith , Shams Mulani, Ramandeep Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Hrithik Shokeen, Tristan Stubbs, Arjun Tendulkar, Tilak Varma, Vishnu Vinod, Nehal Wadhera, Suryakumar Yadav.