Alaskan teacher named finalist for National Teacher of the Year

Harlee Harvey, 2023 Alaska Teacher of the Year (Photo courtesy Alaska Department of Education and Early Development)

Juneau, Alaska (KINY) – The Council of Chief State School Officials (CCSSO) announced that 2023 Alaska Teacher of the Year, Harlee Harvey, is one of five finalists for the 2023 National Teacher of the Year.

Harvey is a first grade teacher at Tikiġaq School in Point Hope.

He has taught in the North Slope Borough School District since graduating from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in 2014.

“On behalf of all Alaskans, congratulations to Ms. Harvey on this outstanding recognition,” said Governor Mike Dunleavy. “As a former educator in rural Alaska, I know that teachers in remote areas face unique challenges. Where others see obstacles, Ms. Harvey sees opportunity, and Point Hope students benefit from her commitment to excellence. “.

Harvey has been involved in numerous staff development programs and extracurricular activities for students, including the Inupiaq spelling bee, Battle of the Books, and is a Mapkuk Mentor for the North Slope Borough School District’s Cultural Curriculum Project.

Harvey’s classroom environment and instruction are focused on culturally responsive practices.

Her peers compliment her on her knowledge of and respect for the Inupiaq culture.

Similarly, her decision to call Point Hope home and participate in the community outside of the classroom helped her earn respect and make it easier to connect with students.

“Ms. Harvey is not only among the best educators in Alaska, but this nomination shows that she is among the best in the country,” said Acting Commissioner Heidi Teshner. “Alaska is lucky to have both the ability to teach and the commitment to the community that Ms. Harvey demonstrates.”

Harvey completed his Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

While teaching, she earned her Master of Education in English as a Second Language and Bilingual Education through the American College of Education.

Harvey received his Education Specialist degree in Educational Leadership from the American College of Education in 2020 and returned in May 2022 to finish his Ph.D.

The CCSSO National Teacher of the Year Program identifies exceptional teachers across the country, celebrates their work inside and outside the classroom, and through unique professional development opportunities, helps them amplify their voices and empowers them to participate in the politics. debates at the state and national level.

More information about the 2023 State Teachers of the Year, finalists, and the National Teacher of the Year Program is available here.